Very often in esoteric books we read of the term chakras. The word chakra in Sanskrit literally means “wheel”. A chakra is like a wheel. It is circular and it rotates.

So what exactly is a chakra? And what are its functions? According to Master Choa Kok Sui, chakras or whirling energy centres are very important part of the energy body. Just as the visible physical body has vital and minor organs, the energy body has major, minor and mini chakras. Major Chakras are energy centres which in general are about three to four inches in diameter. They control and energize the major and vital organs of the visible physical body. They are just like power stations that supply life energy or Prana to different organs. When the power stations malfunction, the corresponding vital organs become sick or diseased because they do not have enough life energy to operate properly. Minor chakras are about one to two inches in diameter. Mini chakras are smaller than one inch in diameter. The chakras interpenetrate and extend beyond the visible physical body. 


Functions of Chakras

According to MCKS, Chakras have several important functions.

  • They absorb, digest and distribute prana to the different parts of the body.
  • The Chakras control and energize, and are responsible for the proper functioning of the whole physical body and its different parts and organs. A lot of ailments are caused partially by the malfunctioning of the chakras.
  • In addition to physical functions the chakras also have emotional functions. These are discussed in more depth in the MCKS Pranic Psychotherapy workshop.
  • Some chakras are sites or centers of psychic faculties. Activation of certain chakras may result in the development of certain psychic faculties. For example, among the easiest and safest chakras to activate are the hand minor chakras. These are located at the center of the palms. By activating these chakras, one develops the ability to feel subtle energies and the ability to feel and sense different parts of the aura.

A deeper knowledge of the chakras is important in the practice of Pranic Healing. This is because of the fact that healers often need to manipulate the energy around the chakras to bring about well-being. For example, uncontrolled emotions like anger and frustration results in Pranic depletion around the solar plexus and abdominal areas or may manifest as Pranic congestion around the solar plexus and heart area. In the first case, it manifests itself as indigestion or loose bowel movements. In the long run, it may manifest itself as ulcers or as a gall bladder problem. In the second case, it may manifest itself as a heart enlargement or other heart related problems. It seems that a certain type of negative emotion may manifest as a certain type of disease in one patient but may manifest as another type of disease in another.

Through the process of cleansing and energising the chakras can be balanced resulting in an healthier energy body which would eventually result in a healthier physical body. This happens because both the bioplasmic body and the visible physical body are so closely related that what affects one affects the other and vice versa.

Chakras and Spiritual Practice

Some chakras are also gateways or entry points to specific energies. The Meditation on Twin Hearts is based on the principle that some of the major energy centers or chakras are entry points or gateways to certain levels or horizons of consciousness. Specifically, the term “Twin Hearts” pertain to the heart and crown energy centers:

  • The heart chakra is an energy center in front of a person’s chest. The heart chakra is the center for compassion, joy, affection, consideration, mercy, and other higher refined emotions.
  • The crown chakra is an energy center situated on top of a person’s head. The crown chakra is the center of illumination, or divine love, or oneness.

These two chakras are pictured alongside.

The Heart chakra is a replica or twin of the Crown chakra – hence the term “Twin Hearts”.  The Crown chakra is the entry point to higher spiritual consciousness. When the Crown chakra is sufficiently activated, its inner core of twelve petals unfurl, open and turn upward like a golden cup to receive spiritual energy. Therefore, it is necessary to sufficiently activate the Crown chakra to achieve illumination. However, the crown chakra can only be activated when the heart chakra is sufficiently activated.  

Master Choa’s book The Chakras and Their Functions provide a lot of interesting and practical information about the chakras.


How Many Chakras?

The number of chakras varies from religion to religion, culture to culture and time period to time period. Many ancient esoteric books reveal only seven chakras or less. Although a few of them hint on the existence of more than seven. There is a point to note here. Even though the ancient scriptures mention the existence of 7 chakras, nowhere is it mentioned that there are only 7 chakras. Readers often simply assume that there are only 7 chakras. This is an assumption without a basis. Consider for instance the following:

  • A reference to a city with 11 gates is made in the Upanishads. Many believe that it is an allusion to the 11 chakras. (Katha Upanishad, stanza 5)
  • The Kabalistic system believes in the concept of 11 chakras- there are 10 energy centers and 1 hidden energy center.
  • The Vijnanabhairava (an ancient text on Yoga) mentions 12 energy centers.

Students need to understand that truth is ever-evolving. And this is the basis behind progress. It is important to discard the lower truth and embrace the higher truth. Truth is dynamic and understanding also needs to evolve with the truth. According to MCKS, “They have never mentioned that there are only seven chakras. The key word is only. The problem is that the students or readers assume that there are only seven chakras. This is an assumption without any basis… The student must remember that truth is dynamic, not static. This is the basis behind progress. One must be ready to discard lower truth for higher truth.”

The credit goes to MCKS for explicitly revealing and explaining in detail the closely-guarded secret of 11 major chakras in his book The Ancient Art and Science of Pranic Healing. MCKS subequently revealed the secret of the 12th chakra in his book Achieving Oneness with the Higher Soul. MCKS Pranic Healing is possibly the only system in the world which uses the science of the 12 chakra system for bringing about healing, well-being and spiritual development.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New To Pranic Healing? Get Started Today!

Chakras: Decoding the Energetic Anatomy
Article Name
Chakras: Decoding the Energetic Anatomy
We frequently hear about the word chakra in esoteric books. Chakras are part of the energetic anatomy and literally means wheel. So exactly what is a chakra? And what are its functions? According to Master Choa Kok Sui, chakras or whirling energy centres are very important part of the energy body.
Publisher Name
Publisher Logo

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This